Balenciaga Fall-Winter 2010/2011 and Alexander Mcqueen’s Final Collection Being Sold

First, allow me to apologize for the lack of blog postings, spring break swept me away, without a computer. Ugh!

Well, let’s get started. Balenciaga – This collection was pretty great! I enjoyed it all, the shoes, the outfits, everything. Nicholas said that he got inspiration from house hold things, like plastic bags, newspapers, and so on. I found it interesting that he can find inspiration in the simplest of things and turn it into something that translates us to another world. He got the inspiration for his shoes from Formica, a kitchen counter laminate! They looked like cut minerals, something complex but still primitive (and a little heavy). He made fur jackets with fur backs, I’ve seen it before, so that wasn’t too big of a shock. The shock was the jumpsuits (I think) that were made to unzip from the waist to make a whole another dimension protruding from the girls stomache, I found it incredible! As well as the caped and cocooned looks he used to keep the Balenciaga tradition. I loved the quilted leathers, the full skirts, and the “new look” used on the shape of the sweater. He referred back to the past, acknowledging Cristobal, Balenciaga, Christian Dior, and Chanel – I saw those references in this collection, the idea of looking effortless and timeless, in Balenciaga’s tradition. As well as the sexuality of a woman in Dior, and Chanel’s ability to make anything look like it could be worn in any other time period. I loved the technique used on the fur, the fur waist and the fur backs. He also used this really interesting technique on a grey sweater, it looked like the shirt onderneath showed through the material in little star bursts, It might have been a print, but I couldn’t see that closely, I just play the runway show on repeat (L0SER).

On the final note, today I found out that Saks Fifth Avenue has purchased Alexander Mcqueen’s final collection, I mean, entire collection – All 16 pieces! The price ranges from $12,000 to $50,000 dollars! I’m not positive if they’re going to be manufactured, or if there’s ONLY going to be 16 pieces created, but either way, I’m sure Saks is going to be used the collection as a way to draw customers to see the collection and maybe buy a couple little things on the way out. I’ll keep you guys posted!

Well, that’s all for today, I’ll post tomorrow, hopefully, if I find something interesting.

-COMBAT

About trendfactory

I'm a fashion design student keeping you posted on the latest trends, designers, and other fashion news!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Balenciaga Fall-Winter 2010/2011 and Alexander Mcqueen’s Final Collection Being Sold

  1. mandi says:

    Hey, check your spelling. Great content. 🙂

Leave a Reply

