Glory over Substance

I was thinking about this the other day, I was once told that when becoming a designer, you don’t usually design for money, you design for the creative aspect. I believe this wholeheartedly. My goal in life is to be known for my work, not my pay check. I’ve met people who’ve bought it all and who’ve seen it all, but I still think, “how hollow”. You’ve seen the world, you’ve bought the fancy cars, but when you pass on, you’ve left nothing but an estate auction of your prized possessions. I want my work to “transcend” who I am. Designers like Balenciaga, Chanel, Dior, Givenchy, and Mme. Gris have left their mark on the world – they’re even in text books and museums! That’s what I want, I don’t want to design and make crazy amounts of money. I want to design so that when I’m gone, there will be people who remember my work and who are still looking for designs I’ve left behind.

You’re wondering what my point is in this?

“If you were to die yesterday, what mark would you leave behind?”

I want my work to be in museums and in text books, ambitious, I know, but if you don’t reach for the sky, what are you reaching for? I understand that there are billions of fashion labels that are created and never make it off the ground, and no one will remember their name, but that’s what my mission is – to become something greater. I was also told that if you ever want to be remembered, make an impression, become something unique enough to be referenced, but still great enough to be desired even after you’re gone.

I’ve seen the world too, I’ve been everywhere around Europe, I have designer labels, and I have a fairly terrific lifestyle, but the difference between me and the people I stated earlier is that I know that that is not what I’m going to be remembered for. They won’t be in museums for their wealth of money, but I will, with my wealth in talent.

In the end, I want to be remembered by the scholars, old designers, young designers such as myself, retailers, manufacturers, museums, the fashion enthused average, and yes, even the people who are richer in substance than in glory.

-COMBAT

About trendfactory

I'm a fashion design student keeping you posted on the latest trends, designers, and other fashion news!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

