Christian Siriano Versus The World

Christian Siriano’s collection was GREAT! But there were some looks that I wanted to bring to attention. Some of the techniques he used were similar to past looks from other designers. Not to say he’s imitating or anything, don’t get me wrong. It’s just uncanny, is all.

Before I continue this, I just wanna say I love Christian Siriano and this is no sign of negativity.

First, we have a double lapel jacket. Of course, the first image is Siriano. The second image is fall 2008 Proenza Schouler.

The next outfit was kind of obvious to me…Siriano vs. spring 2010 Miu Miu

The spring 2011 Jil Sander Peplum. Eh, this one is marginal. I just love comparing present collections to past ones.

Agh, I LOVE this look so much. But I keep seeing Armani. Siriano nailed it.


Gaultier Spring 2009 Haute Couture and Siriano

Siriano and Lanvin 2010 fall. There’s a better example, I just couldn’t find it.


Towards the end I saw a lot of Lanvin similarities, the way the drape fell, and the use of the excess fabric as a design detail. I liked it. It was a good collection. I especially loved the pom-pom skirts and the mini-dresses with the black pleated detail.

Let me say this one more time before closing this post,

I am not saying he copied. I’m just noting the similarities. It’s what I do.

About trendfactory

I'm a fashion design student keeping you posted on the latest trends, designers, and other fashion news!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christian Siriano Versus The World

  1. fashionnation1on1 says:

    Yes, it IS what you do and you do it very, very well!!! We miss you and love you. Thanks for blogging so we can check into the mind of EM!!

Leave a Reply

